The Last Summer of Ada Bloom by Martine Murray

The Last Summer of Ada BloomThe Last Summer of Ada Bloom by Martine Murray
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

There was a lot I liked about this novel and some things I wanted more from. We follow a family who each have their own struggles. While this tries to be a character driven novel I felt that the second half gets very plot heavy and we lose the character analysis. I wanted more exploration on the topic of male child favoritism and I wanted more analysis on Arnold’s character. Even though Martha was infuriating at times I felt that her character had the most layers as the book progressed. I enjoyed reading this novel despite some of the issues I had. It reminded me in some ways of Commonwealth by Ann Patchett although not as strong.

Thanks to Tin House for the early copy!

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started